President appoints Governors of 7 states

President Ram Nath Kovind appointed Governors of seven states including Bihar, Haryana, Uttarakhand, Jammu and Kashmir, Sikkim, Meghalaya, and Tripura by exercising his authority under Article 156. The appointments will be effective from the dates the incumbents take charge of their respective offices.

The list of new governers of respective states are:

State Governor
Jammu and Kashmir (J&K) Satya Pal Malik
Bihar Lal Ji Tandon
Sikkim Ganga Prasad
Meghalaya Tathagata Roy
Tripura Kaptan Singh Solanki
Haryana Satyadev Narayan Arya
Uttarakhand Baby Rani Maurya


Important questions that might be asked from this article.

Note: Click on the words in 'box' to guess the correct answer.


1. Who has been appointed as new Governer of Jammu & Kashmir?  

2. Who appoints the Governer? 

You may also like the following articles: