IAC Awards: Honoring Greats in Management Education

  • Jan 23rd, 2018
IAC Awards

Industry Academia Conference, IAC 2018 was witness to the launch of IAC Awards, a befitting tribute to the Academic greats and the institutions who have been working tirelessly towards betterment of management education and preparing future leaders. The initiative is all the more suited as Indian Management Education today stands at a cusp, and the moot question to all relevant stakeholders is: Will it move towards the next orbit and be counted in in the league of global premier ones, or, will it remain a laggard or a regional player?


The team was fortunate to have an eminent panel of jury including:



The three category of awards were:

1. Change Maestro and Institution Builder of the Year

A fact unanimously agreed by all stakeholders is that the future growth of any institute depends largely on its leadership and governance. There have been numerous examples of institutions growing exponentially because of exemplary and consistent leadership. It is to honor leaders as these that this award has been instituted.

2. Excellence in Grooming Future Industry leaders

The gap between what Industry 4.0 calls for and what B-Schools are able to impart seems inevitably widening. Times that are changing faster than ever demand managers who can keep up. And this category of awards was instituted to honor work of Institutions in making and future industry ready workforce.

3.  Most Vibrant B-School of the Year

Vibrancy of campus life is an important factor considered by many aspirants while deciding on a B-School and at the same time a magnet for corporate who feel confident about picking the students from such companies.  

The event saw Mr D D Mishra, Director HR, ONGC, giving away the prizes to Fr E Abraham (Director XLRI), Prof Janat Shah (Director IIM Udaipur), and Dr H Chaturvedi (Director BIMTECH and alternate President EPSI) for Change Maestro and Institution Builder of the Year Award.

awars iac


The second category of award received nominations from B-Schools across country and top 3 B-Schools chosen by the eminent Jury, presented their best practices to a gathering of 200+ speakers and delegates on 17th January at the conference. This set of awards was presented by Mr P Dwarkanath to

  • IIM Indore (First)
  • NMIMS (Second)
  • Jaipuria Group (Third)

iac awards

 Finally, the awardees of the third category, Most Vibrant B-School of the year, were chosen through an all India Inter-B-School competition conducted in association with Axis Bank, and the winners were:

  • Department of Management Studies, IIT Delhi (1st Position)
  • Department of Management Studies, IIT Madras (2nd Position)
  • IMT Ghaziabad (3rd Position)

Jagannath International Management School, Kalkaji received Award of Appreciation for most voted entry.

iac awrds

But this wasn’t all. The second edition of Industry Academia Conference (IAC) 2018 that concluded magnificently on 17th January, 2018 at the India International Centre (IIC), New Delhi once again deliberated discussions of issues that plague industry-academia relations, and saw a melange of whos-who of Industry and Academia. Corporate honchos such as Mr S.Y. Siddiqui (Chief Mentor - Maruti Suzuki), Mr D P Singh (Head HR, India & SA, IBM), Ms Meenakshi Dawar (Director HR, POSOCO), Mr Niranjan Gupta (CFO, Hero Motocorp), Ms Mamata Vegunta (Director HR, Invesco), Mr Harsh Sachdev (Executive Director, IOCL), Mr Prakash S Bisht (Head HR North, ICICI), Mr Kamal Singh (ED, UN Global Compact Network), Dr Rakshita Shharma (Consultant) and Academia greats such as Dr B A Metri (Director, IIM Trichy), Dr M P Jaiswal (Director, IIM Sambalpur), Dr P K Biswas (Director, IFMR), Dr Asha Bhandarker (Distinguished Professor, IMI), Dr Pratima Sheorey (Director, SCMHRD), Dr Subir Verma (Professor, FORE School) and Mr Sanjay Srivastava (Vice-Chancellor, MRIU), graced the occasion.

Mr. Subrat Kumar, CEO and Co-founder, Cinque Education said, “We feel privileged to have support of such great people. We have come a long way with IAC this year, and we promise to take it to the next orbit in the next edition.

You may also like the following articles: